Changing room flags and sectors with progs?

For builders to discuss and ask building questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rhytania
Sword Grand Master
Sword Grand Master
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 1:46 pm
Location: Forests of Cormanthor

Changing room flags and sectors with progs?

Post by Rhytania » Thu Oct 16, 2003 5:02 pm

I am trying to figure out how to have the rooms sectors flag change during different times of the day and just cant seem to figure it out. The easiest way to explain it is i have 18 rooms that im trying to simulate tides; from 8am to 12 pm I want it to be :

Code: Select all

ROOM_DARK|ROOM_INDOORS SECT_WATER_NOSWIM 
then from 12pm to 8pm go back to:

Code: Select all

ROOM_DARK|ROOM_INDOORS SECT_WATER_SWIM
then from 8pm - 12am go to:

Code: Select all

ROOM_DARK|ROOM_INDOORS SECT_WATER_NOSWIM
then from 12am - 8am be:

Code: Select all

ROOM_DARK|ROOM_INDOORS SECT_WATER_SWIM
. I am doing this toroughly simulat the high/low tides. I looked on the boards but they only have time progs for mobs and whatnot and didnt apply to what Im trying to do.
Thanks for the help
User avatar
Tempus
Staff
Staff
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:34 pm
Location: Warrior's Rest

Post by Tempus » Thu Oct 16, 2003 5:19 pm

As far as I know you can't dynamically change a rooms properties. You can simulate the tide by having a prog that pulls someone from the 'beach' room to the 'sea' room, but only at certain times of the day (similar to the one on holyhead beach). You may also be able to set aside a second set of 18 rooms, and change the room connections going onto the beach at set times. Doing this you would also need to ensure any characters in the set being disconnected get moved by the prog to the equivalent room in the set being connected.
User avatar
Rhytania
Sword Grand Master
Sword Grand Master
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 1:46 pm
Location: Forests of Cormanthor

Post by Rhytania » Thu Oct 16, 2003 5:43 pm

Ok, what if I have the "tide" strecth across certain rooms to create somewhat of a current or channel? Will it have the same affect? Also will it affect mobs that are in the 'tide' path? Can the tide path be crossed or does it have to always pull you out to see all the time. Also how would I even begin to implement that in my area?
Post Reply